Reality Singing Show Update for 3/7

This post was tough to write, which is why it took so long for me to get it up here. But last week made letting go of American Idol after this season a whole lot easier. Nobody really gave an great performance-not even the usually amazing Demi Lovato-and my one reliable favorite went home in 9th place. Add in a baffling performance from our very own Drunk Uncle Harry Conick Jr, the return of the random performance order (what’s up with THAT? Do they not want great performances?) and the fact that next week’s theme is actually “songs most performed on this show” (which is without question the worst theme in 15 seasons of idol) and I hate to say it, but I’m ready to say goodbye.

I would do my usual list of favorites, but frankly I really didn’t care enough about any of the performances to write one this week. So instead of that, I’m going to talk about something happier-the fact that X Factor UK will probably be renewed through 2019! Thank GOD. That’s my favorite show and I’m glad that ITV is probably letting it continue for a few more years at least. Now all they need to do is bring back Dermot O’Leary, keep the three judges and add a final judge not named Louis Walsh, and we will be set for another amazing season.

As far as The Voice goes, once I get proof that the show can produce someone who gets played on the radio, I’ll start watching again. But as long as the focus is on the judges, I can’t see that happening. So for anyone hoping I’d cover that show, I’m sorry but its still a waste of time for me.

To conclude this weeks reality show musings, a moment of sadness for Olivia Rox. Here is a video of why she deserved to make it a lot further.

Leave a Reply

